Thursday, November 27, 2014

Listen to Michael Nagy and the Berlin Philharmonic online

Michael Nagy
WQXR's broadcast of the Berlin Philharmonic under the baton of Alan Gilbert on December 9th will feature barihunk Michael Nagy in two of three works on the program.

The program will start with Bach's Ach Gott, wie manches Herzeleid, BWV 58.  The piece is scored for soprano and bass, two oboes, taille, two violins, viola, and basso continuo, with no choral interventions. He'll be joined by German soprano Christina Landshamer. The bass recitative talks about the history of persecution.

The piece will be followed by Mendelsohn's Third Symphony, Opus 56. Landshamer and Nagy will then return for Carl Nielsen's Symphony #3 (Sinfonia Espansiva). The symphony is the only one that Nielsen wrote that includes vocal music, as the second movement includes a wordless vocal part for soprano and bass-baritone. In some performances the soprano is replaced by a 4th clarinet and the bass by a 4th trombone.

The broadcast will be on Tuesday, December 9th at 9 PM EST (6 PM PST). The show is hosted by WQXR’s Annie Bergen and runs two hours.

In December, he takes on Papageno at the Bavarian State Opera in a cast that includes fellow barihunks René Pape as Sarastro and Tareq Nazmi as the Speaker. Tickets and additional cast information are available online

Xavier Rivera: Mr October
Make sure to order you 2015 Barihunks Charity Calendar before the big holiday rush. It features 19 of the hottest men in opera.
Support independent publishing: Buy this calendar on Lulu.

No comments:

Post a Comment